I am free; there are no strings on me!

Greetings friends,

As many of you know, last weekend was full of excitement for comic book fans everywhere. It marked the US release of Avengers: Age of Ultron and celebrated 2015’s official free comic book day. The new Avengers movie was fantastic! I highly recommend it. It is also the source of this week’s blog title which sent chills down my spine when I first saw the trailer for the film. I managed to pick up a copy of almost every free comic available this year after going to two different participating comic book stores:

Vision Ultron

Comic Book University – This is store I frequent and have a pull list at.
Downtown Comics North – This is where I met Neal Adams earlier this year.

The comics that I was most excited about and had to get a copy of are as follows:
Doctor Who Special
Fight Club (Bonus – The Strain)
Hatter M: Love of Wonder
Legendary Comics Sampler
TMNT: Prelude to Vengeance

Odin reading Hatter M

This week marks the official end of this semester of college and good grief it was a challenging one. I have successfully completed Intermediate Algebra and Diversity and Ethics in Psychology. I learned a lot from both classes and made quite a few new friends in the process as well. However, I am glad it’s over! Next week, I am on vacation for a week from my day job and plan on finishing up Grim Bureaucracy and Enter the Dark Watchman. Next week I also plan on attending the Expo Five concert on Tuesday in Louisville, KY. Three of my favorite bands (Delain, Sabaton, and Nightwish) and playing and it is going to be an epic show!

Lately it has been on my mind to try to de-clutter/reduce the objects which I currently surround myself with. This is an arduous task. I have many collections that continue to keep growing. In honor of Rocket Raccoon I am calling it my “I need this, it’s important to me” disease. I collect comic books, books, movies, swords, and various other pop-culture items. I’ve amassed quite a collection and am quickly running out of room so I have been putting my belongings through a quick survey. How important is the item to me? When was the item last used? What are the odds of me using the item again? This system has been very helpful for me and it also helps when I put items through a similar survey before purchasing them. Some of the items I have been able to sell which an added bonus. Part of my struggle I believe is assigning too much importance to the item. To date, there has rarely been an instance where I have regretted getting rid of something. Who knows, maybe I can feature some items in giveaways?

photo (1)

If any of you are interested in knowing what my current comics pull list consist of here it is:
Spawn
Uber
Enormous
Angela Asgard’s Assassin
Godzilla in Hell
Batman Arkham Knight
New Adventures with the Ninth Doctor
New Adventures with the Tenth Doctor
New Adventures with the Eleventh Doctor
New Adventures with the Twelfth Doctor

The link to a new short story is below:

The Hellhounds of Waymansville

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

