Talking Leaves

Greetings friends,

A couple of weeks ago I was invited to a release party for IUPUC’s literary magazine Talking Leaves. A few of my poems were selected and published in the magazine! The team behind the magazine did a fantastic job bringing it all together. The hardcopy of it is great. Not many copies were printed and it is an honor that I received one for having been published within. Congratulations to everyone else that made it into the magazine and many thanks to the team for their hard work.

Talking Leaves

Click the picture if you would like to check out the digital magazine

The party itself was awesome as well. Cupcakes, coffee, and tea were provided for refreshments. Some of the people that were published read their poems aloud (including me) and then we were left to mingle with the rest of the attendees. The coffee and tea were average. However, the cupcakes must have been made in heaven and delivered in the arms of angels. The coffee cupcake was of course the best. It even had a chocolate covered coffee bean on top. They were a product of an awesome local bakery by the name of Sweet Rose Bakehouse.

Sweet Rose Bakehouse

Click the picture to check out their webpage

Another sweet treat I recently discovered is Pocket Coffee. It is a liquid coffee filled chocolate that is made by the same wonderful people that make Ferrero Rocher. It is as good as it sounds. At first I almost thought it was too bitter because of the coffee but once the bitterness of the coffee mixes with the sweetness of the chocolate the flavors play off of each other very well.

Pocket Coffee

Click the picture to check out their Amazon page. I found them at Jungle Jim’s.)

Last week my Grandmother passed away. She was 72 years old. She had been ill for a long time so it was kind of expected but that still doesn’t make it suck less. My family and I will miss her dearly. She had 6 kids, 20+ grandchildren, and some great-grandchildren. One of my favorite memories with her is eating Oreo’s when I was younger. I was all excited because they were real Oreo’s and not Hydrox’s. I am aware that Hydrox came first but I have always liked Oreo better. If you have any available please raise an Oreo in honor of my Grandmother, dip it in milk (or coffee), and eat away.

2015-12-04 07.38.35

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

