The Watchman Awakens

Greetings friends,

I am going to go ahead and say it. This year shall be the year of the Watchman. Enter the Dark Watchman will be completed this year. The latter part of last year my writing was sporadic to say the least. It is past time to correct that. It won’t be done this week, this month, or next month but rest assured that steady progress will be made. My goal is to have physical copies of the book by the end of the year.

Maybe if I collect the remaining six Dragonballs I can wish for a room where time stands still.

Maybe if I collect the remaining six Dragonballs I can wish for a room where time stands still.

Another thing that it is past time to correct is my health. Most of my life, including currently I have been overweight. It feels terrible to say the least. I am an emotional eater which gets me in trouble. Also, I am a picky eater and like the majority of the population enjoy foods that aren’t great for me. I’m tired of it. If I can’t have a room where time stands still then perhaps I can buy myself some more time by becoming a healthy human being, hell maybe I might be able to grab a hold of those clock hands and pull them back a little bit. Just because I am getting older doesn’t mean I can’t make some life changes and at least feel younger. Besides, it isn’t like anyone else can do it for me. As it is I feel older than I believe someone at my current age should feel.

Take a look at this guy. He is over 2000 years old and doesn’t look a day over 57.

Take a look at this guy. He is over 2000 years old and doesn’t look a day over 57.

I believe it was the sixth episode of the first season of the television show 12 Monkeys when I first heard a version of the parable of the two wolves. The moral of the parable is that inside of each of us there are two wolves. One wolf represents the qualities of evil such as anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego. Another wolf represents the qualities of good such as joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The parable describes a struggle between the two wolves with the victorious wolf being the one that is fed. Which wolf will you feed? Personally, I don’t believe that this has to be a perfect scenario. Almost everyone has moments of self-pity, guilt, anger, etc. However we must try to live a life that is full of more of the good qualities so that the wolf of good is fed more.

2wolves

Usually the New Year is followed by resolutions. Unfortunately most New Year resolutions remain unfulfilled. If you have some resolutions of your own then instead of just calling them resolutions I encourage you to call them something else that reinforces them more in your mind. Unless that just happens to work for you. Some people use the terms resolution or goal interchangeably. However there is a difference. See below for an example of my lists for this year. Another thing that helps with goals and resolutions is reinforcement. Find ways that work for you to reinforce the good behavior that gets you closer to your achievements with rewards and punish yourself when you do things that keep you from earning your achievements. Make sure that the rewards and punishments are healthy ones.

Jake’s Epic Goals for 2016
Lose 80lbs
Complete Enter the Dark Watchman
Read at least 24 books

Jake’s Resolutions of Awesomeness for 2016
Create healthy eating habits.
Develop a regular exercise routine.
Start a regular writing regimen.

Being the supreme ruler of the world requires you to stay strong.

Being the supreme ruler of the world requires you to stay strong.

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

