Smash!

Greetings friends,

Some of you probably know that I am an indie-author and as for the others, well surprise! This week I would like to share with you some things that work for me and some things that don’t. Does this mean that you should or shouldn’t use a particular process? No, it just happens to be my experience. The venue that I mainly publish through is Amazon via Createspace and Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP). I also choose KDP select. I’ve heard of others that have great success through other venues such as Smashwords, Kobo, Nook, iTunes, etc. Smashwords is one of the biggest names in indie publishing. I tried it once and was not successful in getting the manuscript formatted properly for their system to allow it through. In fact the whole process left me wondering how anyone has been able to format their manuscript well enough for them to allow it through. It is just cumbersome and not worth it to me to have to deal with trying to get through their hurdles when Amazon is much more forgiving. Ruthanne Reid, an indie author friend of mine has a great blog post about why she made the decision to leave Smashwords.

Ruthanne Reid Pic

One recommendation that I have gotten from a few people is to offer my books in audiobook format. I am still researching how to go about doing this cost effectively. Hopefully it is something I will be able to offer in the future. Lately I have had an obsession with collecting albums on vinyl. It would be awesome if I was able to release an audiobook on vinyl someday! I may have to start with something shorter like my poetry book or Grim Bureaucracy.

2016-01-30 22.54.50

Recently I discovered a fun site that allows you to copy and paste some of your writing into a box and it will spit out a famous author that you supposedly write like based on some data analysis. I decided to post some snippets from each of my current projects that I have released and see what the site would give me.

AATFTV 2.0 Cover

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Grim B Cover 2

I write like
Douglas Adams

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

bad_blood_rising_COVERsmall

I write like
William Gibson

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

DWP Logo

Enter the Dark Watchman. It currently does not have a cover image.

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Ironically enough I have never read anything by any of the authors it said I write like. I own Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams and Ulysses by James Joyce. They are both on a list of books I plan on reading for a reading challenge I am currently taking part in. Ulysses is currently free on the Kindle! William Gibson and James Fenimore Cooper I had never heard of before. I did enjoy the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy movie and Johnny Mnemonic which is based off of a William Gibson story.

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

