The Dark Watchlist: May 2017

Greetings friends,

This is one of my favorite albums of the year thus far. I foresee it being in my top five if not top three albums of the year. The album is solid pretty much all of the way through. Their other albums had some tracks here and there that stood out but damn they brought their A game for this album. If you like classic rock, progressive rock, and being taken on a musical journey then I highly recommend this album to you. One of my favorite tracks from it is Gemini which is posted below. Some of my other favorite tracks include Midnight Flyer, Sad State of Affairs, Domino, and Something Mysterious.

May the force be with you. I’ve always loved Star Wars and re-watch them from time to time. This month I took the time to watch all of the currently released Star Wars films. Yes, even the prequels. Much to my surprise the prequels were better than I remembered them being. They still aren’t great by any means but if you subtract pretty much everything that involves Jar Jar and the entire romance between Anakin and Padme then they aren’t as bad. I re-watched Rogue One which is awesome! I loved that stand-alone film, especially K-2SO and Chirrut Îmwe. The original trilogy of course is classic and I am lucky enough to have the unedited versions that Lucas didn’t mess with. Every time I watch the original trilogy there are new things for me to take away from it. One of my favorite quotes this time around was from Yoda, “You must unlearn what you have learned.” The marathon concluded with The Force Awakens which I thoroughly enjoyed as well. I have also discovered that there are many psychology and philosophy books that are inspired by Star Wars, I have added some of them to my wish list: Star Wars Psychology: Dark Side of the Mind, The Ultimate Star Wars and Philosophy: You Must Unlearn What You Have Learned, The Dharma of Star Wars, and Star Wars and Philosophy: More Powerful than You Can Possibly Imagine.

This cream soda is awesome. It tastes sort of what I imagine butterbeer tasting like. The only thing that I have tried that might be closer to butterbeer is Flying Cauldron Butterscotch Beer. The Boylan creme soda I can get at my local Kroger. I have seen it at Elevation Burger and Jungle Jim’s. It is by far my favorite drink from the creme soda class. It is actually one of my favorite drinks period. The Flying Cauldron Butterscotch Beer I have only spotted at Jungle Jim’s.

Recently I found myself in dire need of a new device for transferring videos from VHS. I am one of the designated techs of the family and there were some important family videos that needed transferring. In the past, I used a device made by Diamond. However, it would not work when I tried to use it. Upon further research, I discovered that the Diamond device does not play well with Windows 10. Some people have had good luck but I was not one of those people. I had access to a Macbook Pro that I tried the Diamond device on, also to no avail. Enter the Vidbox for Mac. I wasn’t real happy with the price tag but in the end it paid off. I have never had an easier experience converting from VHS. The software that the Vidbox uses is way more user friendly than the software that came with the Diamond. I am hoping that the Vidbox will not suffer the fate of being too out of date when and if the time comes again for me to convert from VHS. If you need a device for a VHS converting project and have a Mac, then this is for you. They have a Windows version as well but I cannot say whether or not it works as well.

It has been on my list to check out some of C.G. Jung’s books. He is pretty much a must read for those that enjoy studying Psychology. I had some Amazon points that I traded in for The Undiscovered Self. A visit to Half Price Books added Memories, Dreams, Reflections, and Man and His Symbols to my collection.

I was looking for another book by Philip Zimbardo called Man, Interrupted. However, I stumbled across The Lucifer Effect instead. I went ahead and bought it because it sounded interesting and I have been interested in checking out Zimbardo’s work. He is primarily known for the Stanford Prison Experiment.

It has become apparent to me that I need to read more book by Alan Watts so using some Amazon points again I traded them in for The Book: On the Taboo Against Knowing Who You Are. Thus far, I have not been disappointed by any Alan Watts book I have read and have gained many insights as a result of reading them.

The Legend of Zelda and Philosophy: I Link Therefore I Am. The title alone was enough to warrant purchasing this item. My love of philosophy is icing on the cake. Lately I have been playing the Zelda games as part of my “studies” and I believe that this book with be a valuable primer to complement those studies.

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

