The Dark Watchlist: June-July 2017

The Dark Watchlist: June-July 2017

Greetings friends,

This is a combined watchlist for the months of June and July. There have been a lot of family events lately. Some of those events include bad things such as deaths in the family and good things such as wedding planning and finding out multiple family members are planning on getting married.

Marco

My music interest for the last couple of months has heavily featured multiple bands that have one member in common, Marco Hietala. If you are unfamiliar with the name I recommend checking out the bands Nightwish, Tarot, Delain (he is a guest for many songs), and Northern Kings. I don’t know how he has the time for all of his projects. In my opinion, he is probably one of the most important figures in the music industry today.

yugioh.jpg

In order to distract myself from a lot of the stressors as of late, I have been playing the mobile game Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links. Growing up I was a fan of the show and the card game. I still have some of those cards from my childhood and it is great being able to log into a mobile game and get a swift kick of nostalgia and sharpen my mind with strategy at the same time. One of the best things about the mobile version is that the cards don’t take up as much space, you can store thousands in your virtual card catalog. I enjoy the animations (skippable animations I might add) that accompany certain cards when played by certain individuals. For instance, if you are playing as Yami Yugi then you are treated to a badass animation of The Dark Magician being summoned, assuming that card is in your particular deck and you play it. It does a great job of igniting my fiero into a blaze of glory.

2017-07-29 23.37.22.png

 

reality

This book is fascinating so far, especially as a gamer with a love of studying psychology. It goes into detail theorizing how games have been used in the past and can be used today as a fix for societal and individual issues. The author describes how her and her husband use games in their relationship and how she has used games in the past to help with symptoms of a terrible concussion. She talks about how games these days aren’t so much an escape of reality as they are tool to complement reality.

blues

This book is a companion book to one of my favorite books of all time, “If You Meet the Buddha on the Road, Kill Him.” This book is setup like a daily desk calendar but with no particular year. Each page is different day and contains some bit of wisdom. Some are certainly better than others depending on what kind of mood you are in. The setup of this book slightly detracted from the overall feel of it but on the other side of that coin it added the flexibility to read a snippet here and there without fear of losing track of where I was at in regards to the cohesiveness of an actual story. In the future, I plan on referencing this book periodically and having fun with being reminded of what chunk of wisdom is on the page of the particular day I decide to read it. One of my favorite excerpts from the book is as follows, “Some children were raised without enough parental validation of who they were and what they were worth. When these neglected youngsters grow up, they usually don’t feel entitled to other people’s recognition of either the existence or the value of their identity. As if trying to ransom back their stolen identities, they try hard to please others so that they’ll validate their uncertain worth. Paradoxically, they are more likely to expect and accept criticism than appreciation in return, and they pay an exorbitant price of unnecessary accommodation and deference. Ironically, when people betray themselves in these needlessly degrading ways, they do not ransom back who they are. They become unwitting accomplices in the repetition of the original theft. ‘Once you’re a grown-up, no one can kidnap your soul unless you act as an accomplice.’”

2017-07-20 19.58.14

Death Wish Coffee is awesome. My favorite kind that they make is the barrel brand rum version. There is practically no bitterness whatsoever to the coffee and you detect a hint of rum flavor that the beans have absorbed from being aged in used spirit barrels. They also have whiskey and bourbon versions. Their coffee isn’t cheap, but using the adage you get what you pay for you can expect great things from Death Wish Coffee.

oreos

We finally have an Oreo that has the flavor of coffee infused into it! I have dipped Oreos in my coffee before and enjoyed the result and now I can have them combined into one and still get to dip them in milk. These are high up on the list of reasons why it is a good time to be alive.

2017-07-20 20.07.01

They make mini-bottles of sparkling apple cider! I am probably more excited about these than a grown man should be. Sometimes when I am eating dinner I want it to be classy and other times I just want there to be a little bit of class. This bottle is great for adding a dash of class to the evening without having to break open a larger bottle, which is great if you want to have a classy dinner by yourself.

2017-07-20 19.54.182017-07-20 20.20.25

There is a recipe in a Taste of Home cookbook for sweet sausage rolls. It uses mini-smokey-links, crescents (that you have to cut up), and a mixture of stuff in a pan that gets baked. The clean-up for that particular dish sucks because it uses honey, brown sugar, etc. that just congeals and sticks to the pan. I wanted a simpler version. I came up with using regular smokey-links with honey-butter crescents in order to mimic the flavor of the more complicated version but with less ingredients and steps to the overall process. Of course, like every food item the ratio of crescents to links do not match but is fixed by making a couple of them with two links instead of one. I heat the oven to what it says on the crescent package and cook it for ten minutes. I cook them on a cookie sheet covered with non-stick aluminum foil and clean-up is as easy as removing the foil and placing the pan back in the drawer. It is a fairly low-cost meal as well.

bag

shenron

This is a must have for any Dragonball fan. It is a great addition to my Funko collection and pairs nicely with the other Dragonball Funko figures. It was made exclusively for Galactic Toys but I found it on Amazon.

ttobf-poster

This is a movie made by Jakob Bilinski whom I have the pleasure of being Facebook friends with. I have seen most of his other films to date and highly enjoy them. I went to high school with one of the actresses in a few of his films which is how I discovered him. I look forward to his future works and especially to checking this movie out. I plan on making it a part of the horror movie marathon this year.

Percy-Bysshe-Shelley

Percy Shelley is an author that I was unfamiliar with until recently. I had heard of some of his works, but never knew the man behind them. He is the husband of Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein. One of his quotes from Ozymandias was used in the movie Alien: Covenant, “Look on my works, ye mighty and despair.” His works also inspired the character Ozymandias in the comic Watchmen. I purchased The Complete Works of Percy Bysshe Shelley for $1.06 for the Amazon Kindle and highly look forward to reading it.

Thank you,
Jake Jeffries

Leave a Reply

